Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Theaterinthenow's Top 5 Tony Snubs

1. Lysistrata Jones for Best Musical and Best Original Score
Now there were a lot of people who were Pro-Lyssie J and a lot who were Anti-Lyssie J. I, for one, was Pro-Lyssie J and was truly hoping for the sleeper fourth spot in Best Musical. While Douglas Carter Beane's book was nominated, Lewis Flinn's score was equally impressive. Perhaps it was bad opening timing, but the Cinderella story has now closed on an under-appreciated production.

2. Patrick Page for Best Featured Actor in a Musical for Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark
Spider-Man: Turn Off the Dark has a rough road to Broadway, and despite some much deserved technical nods, it was Patrick Page as the villain who was the true hero of this production. Why Page was overlooked in a fairly weak category leaves a lot of questions.

3. Godspell for Best Orchestrations
The new production of Godspell was geared for the younger generation of theater-goers. It was high energy and fun with a great ensemble of young actors. But what sets this production from previous revivals was Michael Holland's innovative new orchestrations. The show was not well received, but the lack of any recognition is a bit shocking.

4. Nicole Ari Parker for Best Actress in a Play
This revival of A Streetcar Named Desire was a disaster. But the diamond in the rough was Nicole Ari Parker's seductive take on the iconic Blanche DuBois. With some heavy hitters in her category it was a long shot to snag a nomination, but her performance was deserving of some Tony love.

5. The Rest of the Cast of Clybourne Park
The Best Actor/Actress in a play race was quite stiff, but when it was announced that the seven member ensemble who double up in roles would be considered in the featured categories, their chances for nominations increased. Jeremy Shamos did get a well deserved slot in the Featured Actor category. But Clybourne Park would be nothing without Crystal Dickinson, Brendan Griffin, Damon Gupton, Christina Kirk, Annie Parisse, Jeremy Shamos and Frank Wood. Let's start the petition for Best Ensemble.

Who did you think got the Tony shaft?